onefortywords

teaching unplugged – in brief

Magnus Opum

Leaving a happy conference is depressing; my way of dealing with it en route to London from Harrogate was to abstract my mind with some new music.

I had decent (ok, large and silly-looking) headphones on me and decided to give Magnus Lindberg’s violin concerto a proper go. Like his clarinet concerto (2001-02), it comes in three segued movements, but I think the violin (2006) is better – visceral, swooping, even swooning at times.

Heard loud, it was physically thrilling. My blues didn’t know what had hit ’em. You can hear violinist Lisa Batiashvili breathing heavily at times – there is a serious warp factor to Lindberg’s instrumental writing – and I wouldn’t be surprised if her violin needed to go into the garage afterwards. Paired with the Sibelius violin concerto, it’s well worth a download.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

