onefortywords

teaching unplugged – in brief

Tea-chno tea-chno tea-chno

What’s the connection between Graham Stanley’s talk on Twitter and Betty’s Tea Rooms in Harrogate? A long queue last Thursday, that’s what. I don’t know if this says more about trending or blending, but I couldn’t get into either.

I had a techno kind of day on Thursday, enjoying talks by Nicky Hockly, Gavin Dudeney and Burcu Akyol, followed by an inspiring workshop on Teacher Training Unplugged. Contradiction? I don’t think so. Along with the first tasty days of spring, there was a palpable sense of rapprochement in the air.

I’ve already suggested that dogme can represent a critical lens for the use of technology in the classroom, but it’s clear that – as bottom-up phenomena – dogme and 2.0 can, do and where possible should work together. More to say on this, but bottoms up for now.

4 Comments»

  Gavin Dudeney wrote @

Anthony,

Thanks for the return compliments! No point doing any of this unless you believe in it, I guess…

I’ll add the book to my wishlist – thanks for the heads up.

Gavin

  Gavin Dudeney wrote @

Luke,

I missed the Teacher Training Unplugged session, but caught up with it at Harrogate Online yesterday and thought it was superb.

Rapprochement was definitely in the air, and (as we all, I suspect, feel) about time too! It was a great conference for me, hope you had a good one too.

Gavin

  lukemeddings wrote @

Hi Gavin
Yes apart from a strong story (and the evidence of successful assessment to back it up) it had that great quality-energy!
Agree re time for rapprochement.The only way is (bottom-) up!
Luke

  AG wrote @

Gavin,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback – Izzy and I really appreciate it.

Watching you earlier in the day really helped me take my mind off the fact that I was going to be up there shortly afterwards! I enjoyed your talk very much, as well, because – as Luke says below – energy is infectious, and you have it in spades, as your presentation and your late-entry Pecha Kucha shows.

By the way, check out this treasure on Amazon – I saw it and thought of your wish list: http://www.amazon.com/Hands-War-Fighting-Self-Defense-Christian/dp/0557218853/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1271271844&sr=8-1 .

All the best,

Anthony


Leave a Reply

